Award Nominees at MTN Awards Ceremony 2012. Photo by Richard Findlay - FotoFling Scotland

Musical Theatre Network has been running its annual awards at the Edinburgh Fringe since 2007, highlighting the talent that exists within the genre and raising the profile of the work.  Awards are made within a range of categories that in the past have included Innovation, Book, Lyrics, Music and Best New Musical, but have also included discretionary awards from the judges to recognise outstanding talent or achievement.

Award winners from previous years have gone onto great success: Dougal Irvine’s show Departure Lounge – winning Best Music in 2008 –  went on to a sell-out run at the Summer Play Festival in New York, a fully staged London run in 2010 and a nomination for Best Musical in What’ awards in 2011; the company RashDash – winner of Innovation and Best Book in 2011 – was nominated again in 2012 and has gone on to create work with Lyric Hammersmith, Live Theatre, Royal & Derngate and Latitude 2012; and Barbershopera – winners in 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2012 – have toured their work nationally as well as appearing three times on London’s West End.

We’re delighted to have played a part in supporting the development of this work and can’t wait to see where this year’s winners might end up.

To find out full information on our past years’ nominees and winners just click on the appropriate year: 2008; 2009; 2010; 2011; 2012; 2013



Rachel Tackley, English Touring Theatre & President of TMA
"This is an exciting development for British musicals."
Rachel Tackley, English Touring Theatre & President of TMA
  • Facebook